The European Parliament’s EU-Armenia Friendship Group will visit Armenia next week.


The European Parliament’s EU-Armenia Friendship Group will make its first trip to visit Armenia next week. Dr Eleni Theocharous MEP, Presdient of the EU-Armenia Friendship Group will lead the delegation and will be joined by one of the Vice Presidents’ of the group Frank Engel MEP, and also Ewald Stadler MEP and Kyriacos Triantaphyllides MEP, both of whom are group members. The group will also be joined by two external particpants, French members of parliament Valerie Boyer and Guy Tessier.

Through the course of the trip the delegation will meet with government officials including President Serzh Sargsyan, Prime Minister Tigran Sargsyan, Foreign Minister Eduard Nalbandian and Speaker Hovik Abrahamyan. The delegation will also meet with other members of the Armenian establishment and groups such as the EU-Armenia Parliamentary Cooperation Committee and Armenian Members of the Euronest Parliamentary Assembly, and will take part in discussions regarding the immediate future of EU-Armenia relations and the future of relations within the region.

During their stay, members of the delegation will pay  respects at the Tsitsernakaberd on the occasion of the memorial ceremony for the victims of the 1915 Armenian genocide and will take part in other organised activites.


Armen Andonian


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s